Remembering Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds

Okay, I think we can all agree that this year sucked. On top of all the natural tragedies that tend to happen in life (like death), if you’re in the U.S., politics was everywhere to the point that you could not avoid it (trust me, I tried). But yeah, there has been a lot of celebrity deaths this year. Prince, Alan Rickman, David Bowie, etc. And I will block anyone that makes a Harambe joke faster than the goddamn Flash. But fast-forward to this week where not only did we lose Carrie Fisher, but less than 24 hours later, we lost her mother, Debbie Reynolds.

So, like most people, my introduction to Carrie Fisher was through Star Wars.

princess-leia-1

I’ll be honest, I’m not gonna say something like Princess Leia played an important part in my life or anything, but she was a damn cool character.  Leia was awesome, and the next role of Fisher’s I saw was equally as awesome.

blues-brothers-mystery-woman-4

She was insane and tries to kill Jake Elwood throughout the whole movie, AND IT WAS SO COOL!

But sadly that’s really where my attachment with Carrie Fisher as an actor ends. But what is great is that she was just as awesome in real life.

She overcame a drug addiction, was brutally honest, and overall funny and cool as hell.

img_20161228_224953

She was a legend and will be missed. And yes, all you awful people who care so much about a stupid movie, she completed filming her scenes for Star Wars: Episode VIII, before he death.

And not even 24 hours after her death, Fisher’s mother, Debbie Reynolds was reported dead. Now I’ve seen almost none Debbie Reynolds work, except for one film series that was a big part of my childhood, Halloweentown.

ee474a3d7f568bce3d507fd2bbd5a83e

I will always love those movies, partly due to Reynolds’ portrayal of Aggie Cromwell.

Now death is a natural part (and end) of life and is inevitable. Sadly it will happen to everyone no matter how much we yell and swear. And blaming an entire year for just a fraction of the deaths that occurred in that period of time, is ridiculous. The best we can do is keep our loved ones close and always appreciate what time you do have left with them and in this world.

R.I.P. Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds

Leave a Reply

